Go to content
Pitch, storytelling, design et leadership: The ultimate news by ZePresenters logo

Storytelling
STRUCTURE YOUR STORY

Any story is a narrative for change. That is exactly what makes stories so attractive. They invite us to discover the way in which our heroes come together and adapt to the changes that they are experiencing.

In order to capture and maintain your audience’s attention, you will need to do the same thing: design your presentation as a story about the change prompted by your idea.

We are not only irrational, but predictably irrational

We adopt very irrational behaviors when faced with change. If someone opposes one of your ideas, it is due less to malevolence than it is to a resistance to the changes your idea will provoke. This is where the HUBSTORY® becomes a powerful tool in building a narrative that will promote the switch from fear…

People will never forget how you made them feel

If your goal is to leave a profound impact on your audience, you have no choice; you will have to share something other than figures and charts. The presentations we remember are always the ones that left us feeling strong emotions. To reread: How to give an unforgettable presentation? How can you memorize your presentation?…

Every story talks about change

A factual presentation generally connects the facts of the relationship between cause and effect. This accentuates the impression that you’re justifying yourself. Our approach to storytelling requires you to first to ask a basic question: “What will my presentation change for my audience?”. Then, the only thing left do is to tell the story of…

To teach people something…

“To teach people something, you need to mix what they already know with what they ignore” Pablo Picasso. When you prepare a speech, one of the first questions you should ask yourself is: “what do I want them to remember?” Since your audience’s attention can be attracted by a lot of things and, in the…

The heart has its reasons, which reason does not know

We always have the reflex to want to demonstrate our point of view or to prove that we are right. But neurocognitive research shows that in the vast majority of cases, our decision-making mechanism is driven more by desire than by reason. When you have ideas you want to promote, stop trying to prove that…

The universe is made up of stories not atoms

Fondness for storytelling is not a fad! When Aristotle, then Cicero, laid the foundations of rhetoric, they proposed methodologies very similar to what we read in modern works. The brain prefers stories: it understands better, it projects better and remembers better. So get rid of analytical structures that are totally counter-productive for the benefit of…

How can you memorize your presentation?

When we prepare a speech, especially when there are stakes involved, we would like to free ourselves from our notes in order to give a fully open sincere and committed speech.  Last week we saw how presentation notes can play their support role effectively. Today we will discuss memory techniques that will help you be…

Does storytelling work in every country?

The globalization of markets has also led to the globalization of presentations.  It is not uncommon today to prepare a presentation in France that you’ll give in Germany to an English audience.  Even though speaking in public is never trivial, presenting in a language other than your own, to an audience of a different culture,…

Don’t drop your ideas!

Ideas are at the heart of what drives us. They make us want to get up in the morning, they feed our conversations and, if they receive the support of others, they bring innovation to companies and organizations. Ideas are a significant vector for motivation but they have a big drawback: they don’t spread by…

Aller au contenu
Pitch, storytelling, design et leadership : Le meilleur de l'actualité par ZePresenters logo

Storytelling
Structurer votre histoire

Toute histoire est le récit d’un changement. C’est précisément ce qui rend les histoires aussi attractives. Elles nous invitent à découvrir la manière dont les héros se confrontent et s’adaptent au changement qu’ils vivent.

Pour capter et maintenir l’attention de votre public, vous devez faire la même chose : concevoir votre présentation comme le récit du changement provoqué par votre idée.

On rencontre sa destinée souvent sur les chemins qu’on prend pour l’éviter

Beaucoup d’entre vous évitent dès que possible de prendre la parole en public. Parce que ça vous pétrifie, parce que ça vous rend malade, parce que ça vous gêne, parce que vous ne vous trouvez pas bons… il y a parmi vous un réservoir incalculable de talents, de meneurs de projet qui ont juste besoin…

L’avenir n’est pas ce qui va arriver, mais ce que nous allons faire

Aucune de vos prises de parole ne devrait avoir pour objectif d’informer. Ce n’est pas l’information qui compte, c’est ce qu’elle va changer pour ceux qui vous écoutent. Chaque présentation est ainsi l’opportunité de changer ce que les gens pensent, ressentent, savent, disent ou font. À relire : Le format TED en entreprise ! Toute…

Je cherche quand je veux, je trouve quand je peux

Les méthodes de storytelling sont comme des recettes de cuisine. Elles vous permettent d’identifier et d’ordonner les ingrédients qui font les bonnes histoires. Plus vous raisonnerez en termes d’ingrédient, plus il sera facile d’avancer pas à pas et de vous laisser le temps de trouver la bonne idée, le fil conducteur ou la formulation qui…

Soyez le changement que vous voulez voir dans le monde

On n’adhère pas à un projet, on adhère au changement qu’il va provoquer. Voilà pourquoi, indépendamment des progrès technologiques, la prise de parole en public est et restera un acte de communication incontournable : pour faire le récit du changement que vous proposez et ancrer la confiance en votre capacité à mettre en œuvre ce changement.…

Parlez à tous comme vous parleriez à chacun !

Un public qui s’ennuie c’est d’abord un public auquel on n’accorde pas assez d’attention. Quand vous êtes en conversation, vous faites attention à votre interlocuteur, vous vérifiez s’il vous écoute, s’il vous comprend, s’il est d’accord… de la même manière, plus vous accorderez d’attention à votre public, plus il vous en accordera en retour. À…

Nous sommes d’une irrationalité prévisible

Les comportements que nous adoptons face au changement sont très irrationnels. Si quelqu’un s’oppose à une de vos idées, c’est moins par malveillance, que pour exprimer une résistance aux changements qu’elle va provoquer. C’est là que le HUBSTORY® est un outil puissant, pour construire un récit qui va favoriser la bascule entre la peur et…

Les gens n’oublieront jamais ce que vous leur avez fait ressentir 

Si votre objectif est de profondément marquer les esprits, vous n’avez pas le choix, il va falloir partager autre chose que des chiffres et des graphiques. Les présentations dont on se souvient sont toujours celles qui nous ont laissé une trace émotionnelle forte. À relire : Comment faire une présentation inoubliable ? Comment mémoriser votre…

Toute histoire est le récit d’un changement

Une présentation factuelle enchaîne généralement les faits dans une relation de cause à effet. Cela accentue le sentiment que vous êtes en train de vous justifier. Le HUBSTORY® vous oblige à vous poser une première question fondamentale : « Qu’est-ce que ma présentation va changer pour mon public ? ». Il ne reste plus qu’à raconter le récit de…

Pour apprendre quelque chose aux gens…

« Pour apprendre quelque chose aux gens, il faut mélanger ce qu’ils connaissent avec ce qu’ils ignorent » Pablo Picasso. Lorsque vous préparez une prise de parole, une des premières questions que vous devez vous poser est : « qu’est-ce que je veux qu’ils retiennent ? ». Sachant que notre temps d’attention est extrêmement disputé…